How do Curse of the Nightly Hunt and Sphere of Safety interact?

Asked by RUGslug 12 years ago

Would it FORCE the opponent to pay for each creature that he CAN, and then the others simply couldn't attack? How does this work?

RUGslug says... #1

March 9, 2013 2:23 a.m.

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #2

He can just choose not to pay it and not attack.

From Sphere of Safety Gatherer page:

"If you control Sphere of Safety, your opponents can choose not to attack with a creature with an ability that says it attacks if able."

March 9, 2013 2:26 a.m.

KrazyCaley says... #3

GreatSword seconded. Can't force them to pay a cost like that if they don't want to, even if Nightly Hunt says they MUST attack.

March 9, 2013 2:27 a.m.

fireteam says... #4

No. The creatures that your opponent controls do not attack unless they pay X where X is the amount of enchantments you control. Effectively, Curse of the Nightly Hunt is nullified. This relates to one of Magic's golden rules:

101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can't happen, the "can't" effect takes precedence.

March 9, 2013 2:27 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

No.

Curse of the Nightly Hunt says "attack . . . if able," while Sphere of Safety says "can't attack . . . unless."

By default, each creature your opponent controls will be unable to attack unless he or she pays X for that creature. If your opponent doesn't pay for a creature, that creature can't attack, so it won't be required to do so.

March 9, 2013 2:28 a.m.

This discussion has been closed