Helvault and Bouncing?

Asked by S3L3KA 13 years ago

Hello all,

I use a card like Act of TreasonMTG Card: Act of Treason to take control of an opponent's creature, exile it with HelvaultMTG Card: Helvault, and then use DisperseMTG Card: Disperse to return the Helvault to my hand.

My question is, if I bring HelvaultMTG Card: Helvault out again and it gets destroyed, does it still remember all of the creatures it exiled the first time it was on the battlefield?; or are those creatures exiled permanently?

Thanks much!

rckclimber777 says... Accepted answer #1

Once a card leaves play it loses all memory of what it had done in play and for all intents and purposes it is considered a new permanent. So in this case, if you bounce helavault to your hand, then all cards that were exiled by it are gone for ever.

February 16, 2012 10:38 a.m.

S3L3KA says... #2

Excellent. Then my Grand Architect/Helvault ramp deck idea just got some juice. Thanks. :)

February 16, 2012 10:42 a.m.

S3L3KA says... #3

Confirmation? Epoch, Rhad, I'm looking at you!

February 16, 2012 10:45 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

rckclimber777 is correct. This rule is true for all permanents; whenever something leaves the field and comes back, it is treated as a completely new permanent.

February 16, 2012 10:49 a.m.

S3L3KA says... #5

You're the man Epoch, thanks much!

February 16, 2012 11:11 a.m.

This discussion has been closed