Grell Phillosopher with vehicles and reconfigure
Asked by FalconForce 2 years ago
How does Grell Philosopher interact with vehicles or reconfigure? for example say an opponent has Golden Argosy or Ogre-Head Helm.
Will this attach the philosopher as a piece of equipment that has no effect? (At least, other than protecting it from board wipes) Or will it allow you to sacrifice either itself or the creature it's attached to?
Will Grell allow itself to be crewed even though it won't change? So as to enable free taps or blinks.
Rhadamanthus says... #3
FalconForce: Since it's clear you got a satisfactory answer to your question and there don't seem to be any more follow-ups or corrections to be made, I marked it as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. In the future you can take care of this yourself using the "Mark as Answer" button on the response that you feel best answers your question.
One side note: You mention getting blinks from the particular situation you describe above and I want to make sure one thing is clear. Grell Philosopher's ability only looks at the activated abilities of the targeted artifact, which are specifically abilities in the form of "[Cost] : [Effect]". Only the Crew ability on Golden Argosy is an activated ability (you can see the required format in the reminder text). The other ability is a triggered ability (a triggered ability always starts with "when/whenever/at") and Grell Philosopher won't interact with that.
Delphen7 says... Accepted answer #1
If you choose an artifact with reconfigure, you can pay the reconfigure cost, but nothing will happen.
701.3b: "If an effect tries to attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to an object or player it can’t be attached to, the Aura, Equipment, or Fortification doesn’t move. If an effect tries to attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to the object or player it’s already attached to, the effect does nothing. If an effect tries to attach an object that isn’t an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to another object or player, the effect does nothing and the first object doesn’t move."
If you choose an artifact with crew, creatures you control will be able to tap to activate crew abilities of permanents you own. A creature crewed this way will become an artifact creature until end of turn.
702.122a: "Crew is an activated ability of Vehicle cards. “Crew N” means “Tap any number of other untapped creatures you control with total power N or greater: This permanent becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.”
It is worth noting that in this case, the rules specify other creature, so each creature cannot tap to crew itself.
October 24, 2022 8:54 p.m.