Giving Protection to your opponents creatures

Asked by Faded 13 years ago

I just wanted to double check this...

If I use say, Stave OffMTG Card: Stave Off on my one of my opponent's creatures and give it protection from blue, any blue enchantments would 'fall off' that creature right?

Less sure about this one...

If I use say, Apostle's BlessingMTG Card: Apostle's Blessing on my opponent's creatures an give the creature protection from artifacts would equipment fall off?

It seems to follow the DEBT formula for protection but I wasn't sure.

Thanks

Faded says... #1

N/M apostle's blessing, just reread it to see creatures you control. Is there another spell that would work instead of apostle's blessing? Does this even work?

April 29, 2012 4:43 p.m.

fireteam says... #2

Yes, this works.

Let's say they have a Champion of the ParishMTG Card: Champion of the Parish with a Bonds of FaithMTG Card: Bonds of Faith.

You cast Stave OffMTG Card: Stave Off on it, calling out white, thus the enchantment falls off due to the state based action of being protected from white.

April 29, 2012 5:04 p.m.

fireteam says... #3

@Faded

Tel-Jilad DefianceMTG Card: Tel-Jilad Defiance is the only thing I can find that gives an opponents creature pro-artifact capabilities.

April 29, 2012 5:08 p.m.

Emrakool says... #4

As long as the creature is a legal target (doesn't have hexproof, shroud, or protection from the color of Stave OffMTG Card: Stave Off in this case) giving it protection from the color of the enchantments on it will cause them to fall off. I'm not sure how this works with protection from artifacts and creatures that are already equipped.

April 29, 2012 5:08 p.m.

GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #5

Protection makes equipments fall off just the same as enchantments. Assuming the protection is of something the equipment is (aka artifact, or the color of the equipment if it has one)

April 29, 2012 5:28 p.m.

BrokenZygoma says... #6

Since the artifact (equipment) interacts with the creature when it is equipped, pro-artifact spells with then cause the creature to reject the equipment because it can no longer interact with the creature.

April 29, 2012 5:32 p.m.

GoblinsInc says... #7

Rules quote time:702.15d A permanent with protection cant be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality or fortified by Fortifications that have the stated quality. Such Equipment or Fortifications become unattached from that permanent as a state-based action, but remain on the battlefield. (See rule 704, State-Based Actions.)

April 29, 2012 5:46 p.m.

BrokenZygoma says... #8

@GoblinsInc Yay for the rulebook!

April 29, 2012 5:47 p.m.

Faded says... #9

@FirestormMTG Card: Firestorm

You were first but GoblinsInc answered both questions and then quoted the rules.

Thanks everyone

April 29, 2012 5:59 p.m.

This discussion has been closed