Gadwick and Mimic

Asked by zobster 4 years ago

If I cast a Glasspool Mimic and I copy a Gadwick, the Wizened, I'm not allowed to pay an X right?

Your assumption is correct. X is part of the cost of casting the spell, and since Glasspool Mimic  Flip has already entered the battlefield with full costs paid it does not allow you to pay for X.

You can link to cards as I did above by doing something like this:

[[Gadwick, the Wizened]]

Which becomes Gadwick, the Wizened

May 26, 2021 4:43 p.m.

Guerric says... #2

Omniscience_is_life is correct as usual! While Gadwick, the Wizened does have innate power and toughness unlike many x-spell creatures, copying him would do no good as the legend rule would just force us to sacrifice him, so it would be a totally dead play. On the other hand, if we had Spark Double instead of Glasspool Mimic  Flip, another copy of him would be useful as we could still use his second ability to tap down our opponents creatures when we cast blue spells.

May 27, 2021 10:55 a.m.

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #3

In the future, please remember to hit the green "Mark as Answer" button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this has been answered for several days without any follow-up, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

June 1, 2021 6:15 p.m.

Please login to comment