Fresh Meat
Asked by Vorniclex 13 years ago
Say i have 5 wolf tokens on the field, and my opponent kills them all with day-of-judgement. If i use Fresh Meat afterwards, do i get beast tokens in place of the wolf tokens? Because I don't know if they're put into a graveyard or not.
MagnorCriol says... Accepted answer #2
You're correct. Tokens die just like any other creature, meaning (since 'die' is now among the list of verbs that carry a very precise meaning in Magic) that when they're destroyed, they go from the battlefield to the graveyard. This triggers any relevant triggered abilities and such, and counts for Fresh Meat . Then as soon as state-based actions are checked next (which is immediately after every spells resolves, as well as a few other times) they cease to exist.
Fresh Meat , then, does indeed count token deaths. That's one of the reasons it got some buzz around it; its spiritual successor, Caller of the Claw , specifically lines out "nontoken" where Fresh Meat does not.
November 5, 2011 10:47 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #3
The short answer is that when a token dies, it does indeed hit the graveyard. Your Fresh Meat will note each creature, including tokens, that was put into your yard from the field this turn. In this case, you'll get 5 Beast tokens, since 5 Wolf tokens died.
110.5f A token that's phased out, or that's in a zone other than the battlefield, ceases to exist. This is a state-based action; see rule 704. (Note that if a token changes zones, applicable triggered abilities will trigger before the token ceases to exist.)
operationremie says... #1
i may be wrong but the way i was always told was that the tokens do go to the graveyard but when they hit it, the fizzle. but since they hit it, fresh meat would work.
but i may be wrong.
November 5, 2011 10:37 p.m.