Fathom Mage + Solidarity of Heroes Confusion

Asked by chataolauj 2 years ago

So, does using Solidarity of Heroes on Fathom Mage trigger its draw card ability? I'm confused about this because Solidarity of Heroes "doubles" the number of +1/+1 counters instead of "place" +1/+1 counters onto a creature. Would appreciate the help since I can't seem to find an answer.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

It can be interpreted as "For each +1/+1 counter on target creature, put that many +1/+1 counters on it."

So, if Fathom Mage has 3 +1/+1 counters on it, Solidarity of Heroes will place 3 more on it. Fathom Mage's ability will trigger as many times as counters are placed on it, and you may draw that many cards.

October 26, 2016 1:30 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

There's a specific rule in the CR clarifying the use of the word "place":

121.6. Some spells and abilities refer to counters being "placed" on an object. This refers to putting counters on that object while it's on the battlefield and also to an object that's given counters as it enters the battlefield.

Putting more +1/+1 counters on Fathom Mage for any reason will trigger its ability.

October 26, 2016 11:15 a.m.

This discussion has been closed