Equipping with Hypersonic Dragon
Asked by EmperorEvil 12 years ago
So let's say you have a Hypersonic Dragon out. Does his effect only work on sorcery cards, or can it work on equipping things, too? I ask because on cards like card:Executioner's Hood it says "Equip only as a sorcery." Anyway, I was wondering if you can attack with a creature than equip an equipment right when you get priority next.
cartwheelnurd says... #2
On the rulings for hypersonic dragon on gatherer, it says:
10/4/2004 The last ability has no effect on abilities that you can activate any time you could cast a sorcery.
SO, while you may cast sorcery spells at instant speed, it does not change sorcery speed to instant speed. This effect could be similar to giving all your sorceries flash. While a creature with flash can be cast at instant speed, Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir will not affect cards that mention the casting speed of creatures.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1
Hypersonic Dragon says you may cast sorcery spells as though they had flash. Equipping is an activated ability with a timing restriction that means "activate this ability only on your main phase when the stack is empty and you have priority." Changing when you could cast sorceries doesn't change when you could equip creatures.
September 30, 2012 11:24 a.m.