Epic Experiment on Devil's Play

Asked by JamesKrell 12 years ago

If I use Epic Experiment and get a card:Devil's Play What happens, does Devil's play get activated for 0?

GoblinsInc says... #1

Since you are casting Devil's Play without paying its mana cost, X is zero.

October 15, 2012 6:50 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Epic Experiment instructs you to cast the spell without paying its mana cost. Since you can only set the X value of card:Devil's Play when you cast it for its mana cost, X defaults to 0 if you choose to cast it using Epic Experiment .

October 15, 2012 6:53 p.m.

djgunn says... #3

Epochalyptik and GoblinsInc are absolutely correct. Of course, this can be beneficial in certain circumstances. Such as, if you have a Guttersnipe in play.

October 16, 2012 1:49 a.m.

euknemarchon says... #4

In the vein of trying to reconcile Epic Experiment and card:Devil's Play a la djgunn, you can also flashback card:Devil's Play the next turn, right? It's in exile but you cast it and then it goes to the stack and from there to the graveyard normally OR it's in exile but you don't cast it and it goes to the graveyard per Epic Experiment 's instructions.

October 16, 2012 9:33 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

Right, because of how Epic Experiment works, it'll end up in the graveyard either way.

October 16, 2012 9:48 a.m.

JasonMB says... Accepted answer #6

107.3b If a player is casting a spell that has an X in its mana cost, the value of X isn't defined by the text of that spell, and an effect lets that player cast that spell while paying neither its mana cost nor an alternative cost that includes X, then the only legal choice for X is 0. This doesn't apply to effects that only reduce a cost, even if they reduce it to zero. See rule 601, "Casting Spells."

October 16, 2012 12:45 p.m.

JasonMB says... #7

Btw, could also be useful to cast it and then exile it before it resolves (for 0) using Nivmagus Elemental

October 16, 2012 1:10 p.m.

This discussion has been closed