Dryad of the Ilysian Grove Extra Land Drop

Asked by Sobrinho 1 week ago

If I have a Dryad of the Ilysian Grove in play, and after my first land drop, my opponent kill or exile her, I still have some how the extra land drop of her ability ?

Rhadamanthus says... #1

No, you won't be able to play another land in that example. In the current rules, you determine whether or not you can play a land by comparing how many land plays the game currently says you have to how many you've already played this turn. If the Dryad is gone, you've already made a land play, and there isn't anything else giving you additional plays, then that's it.

Keep in mind that playing lands doesn't use the stack and the active player gets priority again after a spell resolving, so if you want to go land-Dryad-land or Dryad-land-land, there's no opportunity for an opponent to "respond" by killing your Dryad before you play your second land. If you do something else in-between the Dryad and that second land, however, then the opponent will be able to respond with something.

Some previous versions of the rules allowed you to specify which "drop" you were using as you played each land, but it allowed for unintuitive situations where a player could use the additional drop, blink the object that was giving it, and then use its additional drop again. It was an odd and somewhat complicated rules quirk that was smoothed out when the rules for land plays were revised to the current version.

May 15, 2024 9:19 a.m. Edited.

plakjekaas says... #2

Also, if playing a land causes an ability to trigger, the opponent gets to respond before you get to play your second land

May 15, 2024 4:45 p.m.

Please login to comment