Does Ravager of the Fells have a color when it deals 2 damage to a creature from transformation?

Asked by DeBo20 6 years ago

I was told creatures transforming are colorless. I had one kill an Etched Champion that had metal craft.

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #1

The damage-dealing trigger of Ravager of the Fells  Flip is an ability of the Ravager. Since the Ravager is a green and red creature (thanks to the color indicator on the type line), the ability is coming from a red and green source and therefore cannot target a creature with protection from all colors.

In short: No, the Ravager couldn't have killed the Etched Champion in this scenario.

January 28, 2015 8:57 p.m.

WomboCombo says... #2

Yes, Ravager of the Fells  Flip is a considered a red and a green creature after it has transformed. Although there are no mana symbols to show this, the color indicator is shown to the left of the creature type does.

Ravager of the Fells  Flip trigger should not have been able to target / deal damage to an Etched Champion with metalcraft.

January 28, 2015 8:58 p.m.

DeBo20 says... #3

Drilnoth I was really hoping it could. I had the etched champion and a kid told me it dealt damage as a colorless creature. I should have won the match instead I 0-1 dropped. Thanks for the ruling guys.

January 28, 2015 9:10 p.m.

This discussion has been closed