Does Living Plane make Lands have Activated Abilities?
Asked by iBryguy 11 years ago
Alright, so I'm a bit confused on this one. From my understanding, a land's ability to tap for mana is a mana ability. However, many people have been telling me that, if Living Plane is in play, it turns the mana ability into an activated ability, one that Linvala, Keeper of Silence can stop. It does not make sense to me, but I have not been able to find any rulings saying that Linvala, Keeper of Silence + Living Plane does not work to lock-down enemy lands.
In short, does Living Plane truly turn the mana-ability of lands into an activated ability?
GreatSword says... Accepted answer #2
The abilities of lands to generate mana is already an activated ability.
An activated ability is simply one with a cost to activate. Even if the cost is (0) like in Haunted Plate Mail , it's still an activated ability.
A "mana ability" is a special kind of activated (and sometimes triggered) ability. It must: 1) generate mana, 2) not target anything, and 3) not be a planeswalker abilty.
The combo you describe of Linvala, Keeper of Silence and Living Plane would indeed be a hard-lock on your opponents' lands' ability to generate mana.
ljs54321 says... #1
A mana ability is a form of activated ability. What makes this a lockdown is that Linvala, Keeper of Silence says all activated abilities of creatures, which includes mana abilities.
The Gatherer page also explains how Linvala affects mana abilities.
November 13, 2013 1:11 a.m.