Does Grand Abolisher prevent triggered abilities?

Asked by cryptichorror 13 years ago

If I have a Grand Abolisher in play, and my opponent has a Suture Priest , will the Suture Priest 's ability trigger if I bring out a creature during my turn?

arobidoux says... Accepted answer #1

112.3b Activated abilities have a cost and an effect. They are written as "[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation instructions (if any).]" A player may activate such an ability whenever he or she has priority. Doing so puts it on the stack, where it remains until it's countered, it resolves, or it otherwise leaves the stack.

112.3c Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as "[Trigger condition], [effect]," and begin with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." Whenever the trigger event occurs, the ability is put on the stack the next time a player would receive priority and stays there until it's countered, it resolves, or it otherwise leaves the stack.

From the above rulings, the Grand Abolisher will not be able to prevent the activation of Suture Priest's ability as it is a triggered ability and not an activated ability...

September 14, 2011 11:39 a.m.

activated abilitys requires a cost to activate

triggered abilitys only activate when a condition is met

static abilitys are active as long as the permenent is in play

grand abolisher only prevents the activated abilitys

September 15, 2011 12:24 p.m.

This discussion has been closed