Does Gideon, Champion of Justice have summoning sickness?
Asked by WalzY 12 years ago
Can Gideon, Champion of Justice attack a) on the turn he is cast, b) on turns after he is cast? I'm unsure how summoning sickness applies to planeswalkers that become creatures.
CrimsonKing says... #2
When a creature has not been continuously controlled by a player since the beginning of that player's most recent turn then it has summoning sickness so your Gideon is summoning sick.
April 13, 2013 4:06 a.m.
To be more precise, it's because of this:
- 302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule.
When something is a creature, it is affected by summoning sickness. They game doesn't care how it happened, or if it was always a creature or not.
April 13, 2013 4:08 a.m.
GoblinsInc says... #4
Nitpick: Summoning sickness isn't tied to the upkeep at all. It has to have been controlled continuously since the start of your most recent turn.
April 13, 2013 4:08 a.m.
Things only very rarely occur during the untap, and abilities can't be activated until upkeep, so I've always found it's a good reference point when explaining summoning sickness.
And,in all fairness, I did quote the rules in my second post, which explicitly states how it actually works.
April 13, 2013 5:27 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #6
The key thing to remember here is that if a card becomes a card of another type, it has to start following all the rules for that type. When Gideon turns into a creature, he's subject to all the rules of the game that creatures are normally subject to.
April 13, 2013 11:12 a.m.
aavb132: the problem with your explanation using "upkeep" is that you didn't specify whose upkeep, and thus it's partially incorrect. If I cast a creature on my turn, then by my opponent's main phase I'll have controlled it through an upkeep: theirs. But my creature will still have summoning sickness because I won't have controlled it since the start of my most recent turn.
April 13, 2013 7:03 p.m.
That was a type I didn't catch. I thought I has typed "your upkeep."
aavb132 says... #1
Any permanent that is, or becomes, a creature on the 1st turn they hit play has summoning sickness. After you've controlled it through an upkeep step, everything is gravy, and they'll be free of summoning sickness.
April 13, 2013 4:01 a.m.