Does Coalition Victory require Wastes?
Asked by legendofa 8 years ago
Coalition Victory wins the game if it's controller has a land of each basic land type and a permanent of each color. As far as I know, colorless is still not a color. Wastes, however, is a newly introduced basic land type. I can't find any errata to Coalition Victory regarding Wastes.
nobu_the_bard says... Accepted answer #2
Wastes was specifically created without a basic land type to avoid causing a lot of unintended rules changes. Source here. There's still only five basic land subtypes.
The land is unique for having an ability that is not depicted on the card, unlike other basic lands where the mana ability is implied by the subtype.
November 6, 2016 11:32 a.m.
Thanks, GearNoir and nobu_the_bard! Makes this idea I'm brewing up much simpler.
GearNoir says... #1
Wastes is a basic land, but it is not a basic land type. It is not a requirement of Coalition Victory.
November 6, 2016 1:09 a.m.