Does 'bestow' count as a creature cost for Animar, Soul of Elements?

Asked by carpecanum 11 years ago

Does Animar's ability affect the bestow cost of a creature/enchantment or does it only affect the base casting cost? Boon Satyr for example

Debian says... Accepted answer #1

Short answer: No, just the ladder

Long answer: As the flavor text of 'Bestow' indicates, the spell you cast when using bestow is treated as an 'Aura spell with enchant creature', thus an Aura spell and no longer a creatue Spell. So the second and third ability of Animar, Soul of Elements will not trigger. However if you cast e.g Boon Satyr as a creature, without Bestow, the third ability of Animar, Soul of Elements will affect the mana cost and on cast will give Animar, Soul of Elements a +1/+1 counter due to his second ability.

September 24, 2013 1:23 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

@Debian: I think you mean latter. Also, Animar, Soul of Elements 's third ability is static, not triggered. Other than that, you are correct.

September 24, 2013 1:25 a.m.

MasterBooth says... #3

Animar, Soul of Elements 3rd ability works with 'bestow' as the card is a creature when the cost is payed, becoming an aura, and losing the creature type, only after the spell enters the stack. In short, yes it does work.

October 3, 2013 2:30 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

@MasterBooth: That's incorrect.

From the Theros FAQ:
If you cast a bestow card for its bestow cost, it's never a creature spell. Instead, it's an Aura spell with enchant creature, so you have to target a creature to cast it. If that creature has a heroic ability, this will trigger it, just as any other Aura spell would.

October 3, 2013 9:48 a.m.

nitsan says... #5

@Epochalyptik are you sure?From what I understand from the first bullet under bestow here: http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/faq/ths

just like a bestow card which is cast for its bestow cost can be cast with flash from something that affects creature spells, so will Animar, Soul of Elements ' abilities affect it when it is cast. Only on the stack does it become an aura spell.Or am I wrong?

Thank you

October 4, 2013 10:05 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

It's somewhat confusing because the rules are unclear on when exactly the spell is an aura.

The CR quotes in the Theros FAQ state that bestow functions on the stack, and the card becomes an aura and gains "enchant creature."

Specifically, it says "You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost." and "If you chose to pay this spell's bestow cost, it becomes an Aura enchantment and gains enchant creature."

From this, it appears that the rule suggests that the card becomes an Aura when you pay the cost, but we know this cannot be true because aura spells require targets, which are chosen before costs are paid. I'm inclined to believe you announce the spell as a bestowed aura before you begin making other decisions.

We may need someone more familiar with the mechanic to answer this question.

October 4, 2013 1:13 p.m.

This discussion has been closed