Does an "until end of turn effect" were off if a creature dies?
Asked by Itoshii 12 years ago
If I tap Cauldron of Souls to give a creature persist then kill it bring it back get rid of the counter on it can I kill it again and still have it come back with persist?
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2
When something changes zones, it becomes a new object with no relation to whatever it was before (minus a few exceptions that don't apply here). The creature that comes back from the graveyard doesn't have persist because the game treats it as a totally different creature from the one that died.
March 18, 2013 5:24 p.m.
Absinthman says... #3
In your example the creature that would come back because of persist would be treated as a completely new creature with no relation to the creature that died, so it will not have persist.
Now, in contrast, casting Boros Charm with its indestructible mode would make all your creatures indestructible until end of turn. If a creature you control would then leave the battlefield (for example by being returned to your hand) and then would enter it again, it would again be indestructible until end of turn, because Boros Charm modifies rules for a period of time and its effect is not tied to any particular creatures.
March 18, 2013 5:26 p.m.
When the creature changes zones (ie, goes to the graveyard), the creature forgets that it had persist. The persist ability that triggered when the creature died can still find it, but the creature won't have persist any more.
Schuesseled says... #1
Yes it would have persist until the end of turn, as the card says.
March 18, 2013 5:23 p.m.