Do Weathered Bodyguards protect planeswalkers?

Asked by bugsbob 4 years ago

If Weathered Bodyguards is untapped when an opponent attempts to attack a planeswalker I control, will WB protect my planeswalker as well? I'm asking because I've seen a couple videos of games where people bring up the fact that they're technically attacking the player and then redirecting the damage to the planeswalker. I'm wondering if the card will force them to redirect it to the creature instead.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Whatever videos you saw where someone said they were attacking the player and redirecting the damage to the Planeswalker were wrong. You have always attacked planeswalkers directly and as such Weathered Bodyguards will not redirect the damage to itself.

Non-combat damage to a player used to be able to be redirected to planeswalkers that the player controlled, but they changed that rule a few years ago and now you target planeswalkers directly so Pariah won't redirect a lightning bolt aimed at a planeswalker.

June 23, 2019 11 a.m.

Sarkhan420X says... #2

Gidgetimer: the rules change was actually last year, when dominaria released.

June 27, 2019 9:19 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

Was it that recently? Wow, it feels like Dominaria was longer ago than that. At any rate; combat damage was never redirected and non-combat damage is no longer redirected. So you can not save your Planeswalkers with anything that prevents/redirects damage to you.

June 28, 2019 7:33 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

@bugsbob: A correct answer to your question has been up for a while. I marked it as the "Accepted Answer" to move this topic out of the list of unanswered questions. Please remember to take care of this yourself in the future.

If you still need some clarification, feel free to reply with a follow-up question.

June 29, 2019 12:39 p.m.

Please login to comment