Do lands have summoning sickness?
Asked by Syinide 13 years ago
I'm not sure how to word the title, so I said that.
My question is, do lands like Terramorphic Expanse have summoning sickness per say? Like, do you have to wait a turn to crack it for land?
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2
All permanents have summoning sickness, but only creatures are affected by it.
302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule.
Summoning Sickness Rule
Informal term for a player's inability to attack with a creature or to activate its abilities that include the tap symbol or the untap symbol unless the creature has been under that player's control since the beginning of that player's most recent turn. See rule 302.6. See also Haste.
As the above rules clarify, the effects of summoning sickness are specific to creatures. All non-creature permanents can be tapped for their abilities the turn they enter the battlefield.
September 21, 2011 12:15 a.m.
To follow up. Terramorphic Expanse and all other types of lands like this do NOT have summoning sickness.
Lands like Dryad Arbor on the other hand WILL have summoning sickness, but this is because it is a creature aswell as a land. And therefore won't be able to tap for Green Mana until the controller of it has passed through an untap and beginning of upkeep step.
Also, if there is an enchantment that turns your lands into Creatures, or you play an effect on a land that just came into play that turns it into a creature, you won't be able to attack or tap it for mana until you begin your next turn.
September 21, 2011 2:05 a.m.
Sorry, to clarify, they are NOT AFFECTED by summoning sickness. lol
September 21, 2011 2:05 a.m.
Ok, Thank you everybody. I just wanted to make sure i've been playing it right.
September 21, 2011 2:44 a.m.
xxxxxxCronoxxxxxx says... #7
only if the become creatures the same turn the come into play
MagnorCriol says... #1
Well, the simple answer is no, they don't. You can activate it as soon as it lands if you want.
The slightly more complicated answer is that they sort of do, but "summoning sickness" only matters for creatures. Anything that's not a creature can tap the moment it comes in. If you animate a land that entered the battlefield that turn, however, it starts caring about summoning sickness the moment it becomes a creature and suddenly can't tap.
So as long as you keep it from being a creature the same turn it enters the battlefield, you can crack it right away.
September 21, 2011 12:04 a.m.