Difference between Equip and Attach?

Asked by acbooster 11 years ago

So I saw the card Cranial Plating in a thread just now, and I saw it could be equipped and attached for different costs. I looked through the rules but nothing helped me with clearing it up. Can you attach an equipment at instant speed by paying the attach cost instead of the equip cost?

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, you can. They effectively mean the same thing, "equip" is just a fancy name for the sorcery-speed activated ability of equipment.

701.3a To attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to an object means to take it from where it currently is and put it onto that object.

September 12, 2013 10:25 a.m.

Kcin says... #2

i know that with Stasis Cell from Ravnica, CIty of Guilds, the addition 3U: Attach Stasis Cell to target creature allows you to move it from one creature to another and they don't even have to be under the same controller.. which is neat.

September 12, 2013 4:52 p.m.

Datestamp says... #3

"Attach" is instant speed without the controller restriction equip has, correct?

September 12, 2013 8:07 p.m.

Arachnarchist says... #4

"Attach" does exactly what it says per the rule Greatsword quoted. Unlike "equip" attach has no additional rules baggage, so an ability like that of Cranial Plating , can be activated at any time. Note however, that the result of activating an "equip" ability is that you "Attach" it to the target.

The other major differences between the two are that "Equipping" always has a target and appears only on artifacts, where as auras can also use the terminology "attach"

September 12, 2013 9:03 p.m.

This discussion has been closed