cost reduction and dash cost

Asked by abenz419 2 years ago

If you have something that reduces the cost to cast a creature,like The Ur-Dragon does it reduce the cost to dash on something like Kolaghan, the Storm's Fury ? Or does it not work because it's an alternate cost?

Shane says... #1

It won't work

August 17, 2017 9:52 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Cost reductions apply to whatever cost you would pay to cast a spell, whether it's the mana cost or an alternate cost.

The formula for determining the payable cost of a spell is:
Cost = [mana cost OR alternate cost] + [additional costs AND cost increases] - [cost reductions]

August 17, 2017 9:54 p.m.

Dash's reminder text states "you may cast this card for its dash cost." Since you are casting it in this manner, any additional costs and cost reductions apply.

So yes, it will work.

August 17, 2017 10:46 p.m.

Please login to comment