Copying creatures that have their base power/toughness changed by the effect of a spell...

Asked by TheStephenation 3 weeks ago

Player A casts Mass Diminish and passes the turn. Player B has Growing Ranks and chooses a 4/4 Rhino that is currently a 1/1 on account of Mass Diminish. What is the power/toughness of the new token?

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

In the future, please remember to link your cards like so:

[[mass diminish]]

Mass Diminish

When you copy an object, only certain copiable values are copied. Being changed into a 1/1 is not one of these values, so the copy is going to be a 4/4 Rhino.

Here is the rule, which lists the copiable values:

When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The “copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.

September 20, 2019 11:19 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

TheStephenation: A correct answer to your question has been up for a while. I marked it as the "Accepted Answer" to move this out of the list of unanswered questions. Please remember to take care of this yourself in the future.

September 25, 2019 2:26 p.m.

Please login to comment