Commander reanimation

Asked by BS-T 7 years ago

It's my understanding that if your commander is moved to certain zones you can opt to put him/her into the command zone - can that be only at the time it occurs - is really my question. Common sense suggests 'yes' but just as an example:

My Eight-and-a-Half-Tails commander dies on the battlefield and I decide to leave him there because I want my Sun Titan to bring him back (maybe I have a 'creature ETBs' enchantment or something). If my opponent destroys my Sun Titan before he can attack though - is my commander stuck in my GY until I can find another way to get him out?

ChiefBell says... Accepted answer #1

The rule specifically is:

"If a Commander would be put into a library, hand, graveyard or exile from anywhere, its owner may choose to move it to the command zone instead."

Those are the only occasions in which you can opt to put a commander into your command zone. If the commander is just sitting in the graveyard and nothing is happening to it then you can't move it to the command zone.

Interestingly though if your commander was in your graveyard and someone exiled your graveyard you could move your commander from the gy to the command zone. This highlights that it's not just when your commander leaves the battlefield that you can do it.

August 4, 2016 noon

BS-T says... #2

Perfect, good call

August 4, 2016 3:08 p.m.

This discussion has been closed