Commander (EHD) legendaries?

Asked by GLBoxingGlove 14 years ago

Can you put other Legndary creatures in your deck other than the commander?

Lundzilla says... #1

If a Commander and a non-Commander creature of the same would both be in play at the same time, only the non-Commander is put into the graveyard. If two players in a Commander game have chosen the same Legendary creature as a Commander, both can be in play at the same time (so neither is put into the graveyard, although any other non-Commander versions would be).

April 28, 2011 12:33 p.m.

GLBoxingGlove says... #2

i realize the Legendary Rule still applied, I meant can I have Legendary Commander [Name A] then Legendary creature [Name B] and Legendary creature [Name c].

or are you allowed the Commander to be the only Legendary creature in your entire deck.

April 28, 2011 12:44 p.m.

melbicimni says... Accepted answer #3

You can have as many differently named legendary creatures in your deck as you want (assuming that it isn't on the EDH banned list). There is no deckbuilding restriction stating that the only Legendary Creature allowed in your deck is the commander, just that your commander has to be Legendary.

April 28, 2011 12:56 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #4

No, you're perfectly allowed to have more than just your Commander in there. You're pretty much completely free except for a few cards that have a gentleman's ban of sorts.

You can find the "official" rules here at mtgcommander.net. At least until this summer when Wizards releases their Commander products and it becomes an actual official format.

Also, Lundzilla, you're incorrect - the legend rule applies to commanders just the same.

  1. Commander are subject to the Legend rule; they will be put into the graveyard or command zone at the same time as any other Legendary creatures with the same name.

The only difference is that a commander has the option of going to the command zone rather than the graveyard. I know I've heard people telling stories about using their copy of a legendary to get an opponent's commander off the field.

That doesn't mean you don't have a house rule that changes it, which is fine for EDH since it's not "official" yet. Just something to keep in mind.

April 28, 2011 1:17 p.m.

Lexis136 says... #5

i just read the rules, and it states that the only non-banlist restriction was that no player may have the same general, nor can any person have someone else's general in their deck

example would be that person a has a Glissa, the Traitor as a general, you can't have Glissa, the Traitor in your deck, nor use it as a general.

April 28, 2011 3:13 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #6

Lexis136, that's not accurate. The link given by MagnorCriol is to the true official rules for the format, and the deck construction rules specifically state "Two players in the same game may choose the same Commander, and other players may include that card in their Deck even if it's not their Commander."

April 28, 2011 3:19 p.m.

LikeMike says... #7

Basically the Legendary subtype is made to not allow you to have more than 1 legendary card of the same card on YOUR side of the battlefield. Cards like Glissa, the Traitor , both you and your opponent can have on the battlefield at the SAME TIME. the only event where this does not apply is Planeswalkers.

If you have a Jace, the Mind Sculptor and your opponent casts one, then they are both destroyed. Ex. This question has been brought up before, but where Jace Beleren and Jace, the Mind Sculptor both share the cardtype "Jace", Multiple of the card cannot exist on the battlefield, only 1 can.

The Legendary Subtype is different, distinguishing between Planeswalkers and the Legendary Subtype, Planeswalkers you can only have 1 of the same type on the battlefield, and for legendarys, 1 of the same Legendary can exist on your side of the battlefield at a time, but you can have any amount of legendary cards as long as they have different names.

April 30, 2011 10:53 a.m.

MagnorCriol says... #8

LikeMike, the first part of your statement is incorrect - the Legendary rule applies to the WHOLE battlefield. So a Jenara, Asura of War on your side of the field will be put into the graveyard if an opponent casts and resolves his copy of Jenara, Asura of War just the same as if you'd cast a second Jenara. (Their copy will also go to the GY, by the way.)

704.5k If two or more legendary permanents with the same name are on the battlefield, all are put into their owners' graveyards. This is called the "legend rule." If only one of those permanents is legendary, this rule doesn't apply.
The rest of your comment's right, though. PWs have the planeswalker rule, which functions similar to the legend rule but keys off the planeswalker subtype rather than the name.
April 30, 2011 11:02 a.m.

This discussion has been closed