Can Strionic Resonator be used with cipher and evolve?
Asked by dude9914 11 years ago
They seem to be standardized triggered effect, but especially with the evolve l, I'm not sure how it would stack.
Specifically, Renegade Krasis , if you drop a 3 body would the evolve itself trigger twice, or could you only copy the second effect?
Call of the Nightwing for a cipher reference.
Cipher definitely works with Strionic Resonator. After you deal combat damage with the encoded on creature, you can copy the effect allowing you to cast the spell, effectively allowing you to cast the spell twice.
Evolve is trickier. While you can copy the evolve trigger with Strionic Resonator, it will check the power and toughness of the entering creature both times, and won't do anything if the power/toughness is not higher either time. Better explained in example:
if you have a Renegade Krasis on the field, and then play, say, Call of the Conclave , you can copy the evolve trigger of the Krasis with the Resonator. However, once one of the triggers resolves, Renegade Krasis will be a 4/3. When the second ability checks its power/toughness as it tries to resolve, it will find it too high to allow evolve to do anything, and will therefore not allow you to put a +1/+1 counter on Renegade Krasis.
Renegade Krasis's second ability can be copied normally. However, unless you can untap Strionic resonator in between, you cannot copy both the evolve trigger and the second ability with the same Resonator.
July 31, 2013 5:21 p.m.
smash10101 says... #3
evolve checks the power/toughness on resolution, so copying the evolve trigger might not be the best idea. However, copying the second ability would be good, as it would cause 2 +1/+1 counters to be placed on each other creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it
July 31, 2013 5:21 p.m.
there's also an interesting ruling for Strionic Resonator
7/1/2013 If a triggered ability is linked to a second ability, copies of that triggered ability are also linked to that second ability. If the second ability refers to the exiled card, it refers to all cards exiled by the triggered ability and the copy. For example, if Exclusion Ritual s enters-the-battlefield ability is copied and two nonland permanents are exiled, players cant cast spells with the same name as either exiled card.
July 31, 2013 5:22 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #5
A triggered ability starts with "when / whenever / at", so either Cipher or Evolve would be perfectly fine to copy with Strionic Resonator .
Evolve checks and compares P/T both at the time the ability would trigger and right before it would start to resolve (it's written with something called an "intervening 'if' clause"). A copy of an Evolve trigger will do the same thing. Each of the copy and the original would only put a +1/+1 counter on the "evolving" creature if the other creature is still bigger at that time.
In your example the Evolve copy would resolve first and make Renegade Krasis bigger. This triggers his second ability. After that resolves, the original Evolve trigger will compare P/T again. If the triggering creature is no longer bigger than the 4/3 Krasis, then the Krasis won't evolve.
July 31, 2013 5:24 p.m.
Thanks fellas. With the only card that can do this, I amtrying to see how it can be abused.
Sam_I_am says... #1
Yes, you can copy both types of abilities.
As for the Krasis's second ability Here's the Gatherer Ruling that seems to matter
So it appears as though it's second ability would fire twice if you copied the evolve trigger.
We may see a more definitive ruling on this in the future
July 31, 2013 5:19 p.m.