Can 'Regenerate' and 'Soulbond' be used/triggered infinitely?
Asked by Grimaldii 12 years ago
Hey Folks!,
Checked out the official rules, but they're not entirely clear I think. Apologies if this is a silly question.Say my friend plays Wolfir Silverheart and uses Soulbond to 'attach' it to one of his creatures. If I destroy the attached creature, and then he plays another creature, can the new creature be bonded to Wolfir Silverheart again? Or can Wolfir Silverheart 's 'Soulbond' only be activated once when it enters the battlefield?
Secondly, if I destroy a creature, and it my friend activates Regenerate, can he do the same if I destroy it again next turn? For some reason I was under the impression Regenerate was one-use-only.
Thanks in advance!
Curses! haha.
Thanks, I thought that was the case, but wasn't entirely sure. First time I played against a deck with creatures with such a wide range of abilities!
January 15, 2013 7:40 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #3
Soulbond is a triggered ability, not an activated one.
Soulbond triggers if either of the following situations happen:
1) A creature with soulbond enters the battlefield.
2) A creature enters the battlefield under the control of a player with an unpaired creature that has soulbond.
An activated regeneration ability may be activated whenever the controller of its source can pay the activation cost. The regeneration shield itself is a one-time thing, and the shield disappears when the permanent would be destroyed. It will need to be reactivated to cover another instance of destruction.
Note that a regeneration shield must be in place before destruction would happen; you aren't given a chance to activate a regeneration ability when destruction happens.
January 15, 2013 7:46 p.m.
'Note that a regeneration shield must be in place before destruction would happen; you aren't given a chance to activate a regeneration ability when destruction happens.'
Oh, interesting, okay, so if I have this correctly.. assuming I am going to play something with a destruction effect, Regenerate would have to be paid for and in place pre-emptively before it would work? This only happens in the case of destruction effects, not normal combat damage, yes?
January 15, 2013 8:02 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #5
A replacement effect like regeneration must ALWAYS exist before the event it would replace would happen.
You must create a regeneration shield before the destruction effect would happen. Lethal damage is included because it destroys a creature.
January 15, 2013 8:13 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #6
Note that you may still respond to a destruction effect on the stack, such as an unresolved Murder .
demonx666 says... Accepted answer #1
you can Regenerate as many times a match as long you can play for it. or if the card says otherwise, and if you look at the text in Wolfir Silverheart that explains soulbound it say with either creature enter the battlefield you can souldbound it
January 15, 2013 7:32 p.m.