Can Ogre Slumlord's rats gain counters from Death's Presence for new rats.
Asked by Lord_Benzo 11 years ago
Ok so lets say i have Ogre Slumlord
on the field and Death's Presence
with lets say two rat tokens. Now when the rat tokens go and attack and are blocked by an opposing creatures and die can i put the counters that i would get from the rats that died on to the new rats that are coming in due to Ogre Slumlord's ability.
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2
Both Ogre Slumlord and Death's Presence trigger when a creature dies. Because you control them both you can choose what order to put them on the stack, but you have to choose a target for Death's Presence at this time. The Slumlord's ability hasn't yet resolved and made a Rat token, so you can't target that token with Presence. You have to choose something that's already on the battlefield.
July 15, 2013 11:41 p.m.
If you have Ogre Slumlord , Death's Presence and any two other non token creatures you control die, you have two triggered abilities going off at once. since you control both sources of the triggered abilities, you may choose the order they resolve in. essentially this means you may choose whether you want the rats our the counters to come in first. if you choose the rats, you can target them with the counters. so yes what your asking for its possible, if the creatures that died were not tokens.
July 15, 2013 11:44 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #5
@julesleos: Just like you have to choose targets for a spell at the time you put it onto the stack, you have to do the same for triggered abilities. The token from the Slumlord trigger doesn't exist yet, so it can't be chosen as the target for the Presence trigger.
603.3d The remainder of the process for putting a triggered ability on the stack is identical to the process for casting a spell listed in rules 601.2cd...
601.2c The player announces his or her choice of an appropriate player, object, or zone for each target the spell requires...
July 15, 2013 11:56 p.m.
yep, you're right. said that. I apologize for the mistake.
amishrambo says... #1
well Ogre Slumlord doesn't get rats from token death but hypothetically if two NONtoken creatures die. (im not 100%) but I would say no
July 15, 2013 11:37 p.m.