Can i Saffi a monster i own but don't control?

Asked by ravengamer93 12 years ago

I was playing an EDH game, I had Saffi ericsdotter out and i played a Sun Titan , the opponent took control of Sun Titan , i decided that gave him too much board power so I sacrificed Saffi ericsdotter and targeted Sun Titan before i used Wrath of God . Sun Titan went to MY graveyard. My intention was to get Sun Titan back onto my side as the only creature left. But we had a long conversation and decided that it actually ended up back on his side of the field. Should Sun Titan have gone to me?

ravengamer93 says... #1

November 18, 2012 11:20 p.m.

MisterRoach says... #2

Saffi requires the creature to enter "your graveyard" not "a graveyard"

November 18, 2012 11:25 p.m.

Timekeeper says... #3

According to the rules clarifications at http://magiccards.info/ts/en/245.html

"9/25/2006: The creature is returned to the battlefield under your control if it's put into your graveyard from the battlefield. It doesn't matter who controlled it when Saffi targeted it."

November 18, 2012 11:25 p.m.

ravengamer93 says... #4

!>.< so they cheated?

November 18, 2012 11:27 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #5

Saffi Eriksdotter 's only targeting restriction is that the target object must be a creature. It can be any creature that could legally be targeted by the ability.

When the creature goes to your graveyard from the battlefield, it will trigger the ability. Then, as the controller of the ability, you will return it to your side of the battlefield.

9/25/2006: The creature is returned to the battlefield under your control if it's put into your graveyard from the battlefield. It doesn't matter who controlled it when Saffi targeted it.

November 18, 2012 11:28 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

Yes, although it may not have been intentional.

November 18, 2012 11:28 p.m.

Timekeeper says... #7

@MisterRoach: As he explained, the Sun Titan was owned by him, so it did go to "his" graveyard.

@ravengamer93: More confused than cheating, but it would seem that way, yes.

November 18, 2012 11:29 p.m.

ravengamer93 says... #8

xDDDDDD you have no idea how happy that makes me! i would have won!!! woooohoooooo

November 18, 2012 11:30 p.m.

MisterRoach says... #9

I misread that then. whoops.

November 18, 2012 11:31 p.m.

This discussion has been closed