Can I Flash Academy Researchers into Animate Dead?

Asked by Vasseer 4 years ago

If I cast Flash putting Academy Researchers into play, then sacrifice them to flash, can I then put Animate Dead onto the battlefield enchanting the Academy Researchers in my graveyard?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

No, you can't.

Academy Researchers' ability says "...into play attached to this card."

  1. Animate Dead cannot legally enchant Researchers while its in play because it must "enchant creature in graveyard" initially.

  2. Since you're still resolving Flash, Researcher's ability won't go on the stack until it's resolved and the creature is sacrificed. By that time, Academy Researchers is a new entity that's in the graveyard, and not the same Researchers that the enchantment was supposed to be attached to. So you don't even reveal or play an enchantment from your hand.

March 8, 2016 10:12 p.m.

This discussion has been closed