Can Haakon, Stromgald Scourge summon himself from the graveyard like Skaab Ruinator can or does he need something to bring him back like Rise from the Grave?
Asked by MsSysbit 9 years ago
I just assumed he could(especially since you lose life when he dies) but is that wrong?...
Thanx so much itachiuchiha117 I thought it worked like that but then a debate erupted when I tried that and they said I had to reanimate him(making him nigh impossible to cast) thanx so much for the ruling and clarification!
March 21, 2016 9:13 p.m.
nobu_the_bard says... #3
The first line says you can play him from your graveyard. How were they able to argue this?
If a card contradicts the rules, the card takes precedence. If it says you can do something you normally can't, you can. If it says you can't do something you normally can, now you can't. (If both happens, can't overrides can.) If you aren't sure, most of the most common questions are on Gatherer.
March 21, 2016 9:24 p.m.
nobu_the_bard basically they argued his ability to summon knights only applied when he was on the field so I could play him from the grave but only with a separate reanimation effect. The word "may" was read as he could be resummoned but not his ability summoning his resummon. I got outvoted but was kinda like... really? isn't he useless otherwise?
March 21, 2016 9:30 p.m.
nobu_the_bard says... #5
Yes you're right. The second ability does only work when he's on the battlefield, but it's not relevant. The "may" in the first simply means you can here. You don't have to play him.
Sorry I'm redundant. I was annoyed at those guys by proxy :P
March 21, 2016 9:34 p.m.
It's cool by me; I was kinda steamed too tbh. Really who wants to ruin a casual knight tribal deck?
March 21, 2016 9:37 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #7
Note that the Oracle text for Haakon makes it clear that you're allowed to cast him from the graveyard. The printed text is from a time in the game's history when the word "play" was overloaded with different meanings and could sometimes be ambiguous.
ItchiUchiha117 says... Accepted answer #1
Here is the link to Haakon's Gatherer page. Yes, you can cast Haakon from the graveyard. It is, in fact, the only place you can cast him from.
March 21, 2016 9:08 p.m.