Can Feast on the Fallen trigger more than once per turn in multiplayer?

Asked by GenericNPC 5 years ago

I'm almost positive it can't, but I just want to double check. If you're playing 2 headed giant, and say you or your teammate deals damage to both opponents with something like Extort or Guttersnipe . Does Feast on the Fallen trigger once or twice on their following upkeep?

I'm pretty sure "if an" means its only checking to see if at any point during the last turn an opponent lost life, regardless of how many opponents did, so only one counter is added. It would have to say something like "For each" for it to add more than one counter, right?

I checked the card rulings, but nothing specifically addresses what happens if more than one opponent takes damage (probably because of the aforementioned difference between "if an" and "for each" that I'm assuming).

Slycne says... Accepted answer #1

Feast on the Fallen only ever triggers the one time. The wording means it's just looking for that condition, pass or fail. It doesn't care about quantity in any way.

September 28, 2014 5:17 p.m.

GlistenerAgent says... #2

Feast on the Fallen triggers on your upkeep. It checks to see if during the last turn, an opponent lost life. This could be one opponent or all of them, and the condition will be satisfied either way.

September 28, 2014 5:30 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Note also that extort does not deal damage, although that is irrelevant in this situation.

September 28, 2014 7:23 p.m.

This discussion has been closed