Can "any number" be zero?
Asked by Emzed 11 years ago
When i activate the monstrosity ability on Polukranos, World Eater , the second ability allows me to deal damage to "any number of target creatures" and these deal damage back to Polukranos. Can i chose zero target creatures (in case my opponent controls only guys that are bigger than Polukranos or creatures with deathtouch)?
MindAblaze says... Accepted answer #2
To quote Rhadamanthus' answer on a previous question...
So you know, this is the official rule covering the situation:
107.1c If a rule or ability instructs a player to choose "any number," that player may choose any positive number or zero, unless something (such as damage or counters) is being divided or distributed among "any number" of players and/or objects. In that case, a nonzero number of players and/or objects must be chosen if possible.
OCTOBER 3, 2013 11:22 A.M.
October 29, 2013 7:30 p.m.
MindAblaze says... #3
The key being the second half;
"unless something (such as damage or counters) is being divided..."
fluffybunnypants says... #1
If your opponent has a creature in play, they must fight. If there are no creatures on your opponent's side, the fight effect will simply fizzle without a valid target, but monstrous will still resolve.
October 29, 2013 7:25 p.m.