Calamity Bearer + Cyclone Summoner + Run Amok
Asked by seshiro_of_the_orochi 2 years ago
Following situations occured while playing the new 2021 starter kit yesterday
I attacked with summoner and my opponent decided to block with five of his creatures with combined power 9 and toughness 10, which had us both thinking how the damage would happen. Here's what we figured out:
I assigned the 10 damage from Summoner in a way so that all blocking creatures receive lethal damage before Calamity Bearer is applied. Then, Bearer doubles the damage to each creature. Since summoner tramples, this should result in 10 trampling damage to my opponent, correct? The are two other possible outcomes:
I totally missed something, so the damage isn't increased that way
He actually received 20 damage because re-assigns zhe damage, which doubles it again
I'm not sure if we ruled this correctly, so someone please confirm or deny.
this can be answered by looking at the gatherer rulings under Calamity Bearer.
2/5/2021 If damage dealt by a Giant source you control is being divided or assigned among multiple permanents and/or players, that damage is divided or assigned before doubling. For example, if you attack with a 5/5 Giant with trample and it’s blocked by a 2/2 creature, you can assign 2 damage to the blocker and 3 damage to the defending player. Those amounts are then doubled to 4 and 6, respectively.
in the case you described, there is no trample damage going to the defending player for Calamity Bearer to double.
August 26, 2021 11:35 p.m.
Yeah, all Calamity Bearer does in this situation is make the blockers extra dead. They manage to soak up everything and keep your opponent safe.
August 27, 2021 10:52 a.m.
ChandraVess: Thanks for clearing that up. I just realized that I obviously didn't consider that there's only one step where damage dealt.