Are things still considered blocked?

Asked by Sizzlr694 12 years ago

Over a couple of games with a mate, casual but they got awfully intense.

In play I have Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord and a Desecration Demon he attacks me with something. I can't remember what, but I declare the Desecration Demon as the blocker. He then chooses to selysnia charm my demon, wanting to exile it, so I use Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord ability to sacrifice the demon and cause him to lose life.Is his creature still considered blocked because he only chose to play the charm when I declared it? I understand combat damage isn't done but I still believe the block stands.

Conversely in the next game I attack with a creature, and he has nothing to block with so he Savage Summoning in another creature and in the same breath states he wants to block with it. I wish to Putrefy that creature before he can block. but he refers to the last point saying that its the same thing and the block still counts. I think it doesn't because I get priority after he flashes in the creature and should be allowed to do that before he can declare the block, even though it is his blocking step.

I believe that in the first scenario the block stands but the second one it doesn't?

Sizzlr694 says... #1

October 16, 2013 1:10 a.m.

Kbra says... #2

Yup, you are right, once a creature has been declared blocked, it stays blocked.

And if the creature was putrefy'd before the declare blockers step, there was no creature to block.

In the first scenario, if the attacking creature had trample, it would have dealt you dmg.

October 16, 2013 1:24 a.m.

Sizzlr694 says... #3

Thanks for that, first one did not have trample.

The second one, he cast Savage Summoning in his declare blockers phase, saying that because it was his blocking phase he can block the moment that it enters the battlefield. But I believe that I have the opportunity to Putrefy it in the blocking step because thats when it was cast and I should have priority?

October 16, 2013 1:30 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #4

The defending player declares blocking creatures immediately upon the game entering the declare blockers step. It's the first thing that happens in that step, and it's a special action (it doesn't use the stack). The only creatures available for blocking are therefore the creatures that the blocking creature controls as the declare blockers step begins. Once players receive priority in the declare blockers step, it's too late to change blocks or declare new blockers.

Your opponent would had to have cast Savage Summoning and the creature card during the end of the declare attackers step in order to block with that creature. Therefore, you would have been given priority to cast something before the game progressed to the next step.

Magic isn't a game about who can say things the fastest. It follows defined rules.

October 16, 2013 1:44 a.m.

This discussion has been closed