act of treason question and ruling

Asked by burliestzero 13 years ago

what is the ruling for having an act of treason played on my creature, then leaving play and returning to them on their turn. after their turn does the card come back to me? i was told no because it is a different item when it returns. is this true?

ironbrad says... #1

This is true because something like CloudshiftMTG Card: Cloudshift say exile then return to your side of the field. now when it is exiled the control factor of act of treason is gone then it enters on their side giving them "permanent" control

May 16, 2012 10 p.m.

BigBruce says... #2

403.4. Whenever a permanent enters the battlefield, it becomes a new object and has no relationship toany previous permanent represented by the same card.

So it forgets it was affected by Act of TreasonMTG Card: Act of Treason, and will remain under your control because CloudshiftMTG Card: Cloudshift specifically says that and not under owner's control.

May 16, 2012 11:13 p.m.

NobodyPicksBulbasaur says... Accepted answer #3

When someone casts Act of TreasonMTG Card: Act of Treason on a creature, it links its effect with that creature. The effect triggers at the end of the turn to return the linked creature to its owner's control.

When someone plays something like CloudshiftMTG Card: Cloudshift, the creature leaves and comes back as a new permanent. Because it's a new permanent, it is no longer linked to the effect of Act of TreasonMTG Card: Act of Treason. The effect to return your creature still triggers, but has no linked creature, and thus fizzles.

May 16, 2012 11:14 p.m.

dragonstryke58 says... #4

Just to clarify though, you would need to cast CloudshiftMTG Card: Cloudshift before Act of TreasonMTG Card: Act of Treason resolves. You cannot cast it after Act of Treason resolves to get back your creature because Cloudshift specifically targets a creature you control. Once Act of Treason resolves, you no longer control that creature until the end of the turn.

May 18, 2012 9:57 p.m.

This discussion has been closed