abilities

Asked by 9tailed2 4 years ago

my opponent has 2+ creatures and I sacrifice Defense of the Heart and I use that to play Maelstrom Wanderer can I cascade?

TheFoilAjani says... Accepted answer #1

No. Cascade specifies that it triggers when the spell is cast, where as Defense of the Heart only puts the creature into play. Also, Defense of the Heart triggers on 3 or more creatures, fyi.

September 8, 2016 10:09 p.m.

9tailed2 says... #2

sry meant 3 but anyway thanks

September 8, 2016 10:10 p.m.

No, you cannot. Nowhere in Defense of the Heart's text does it say you cast the creatures you tutor from it. You simply put those creatures directly on to the battlefield, and Cascade only triggers when you cast the spell with Cascade.

September 8, 2016 10:10 p.m.

ccmaci says... #4

No, it says CAST, you never put it on the battlefield with a mana cost (if mana cost was = to 0 then it is still considered to be casted)

September 8, 2016 10:10 p.m.

ccmaci, please elaborate on your post so I'm understanding you correctly?

September 8, 2016 10:29 p.m.

ccmaci says... #6

Unless the card says, "Cast this card from your deck" then putting the card from your library onto the battlefield will not trigger Cascade... which activates via casting with a converted mana cost.

September 9, 2016 2:18 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

Note that "trigger" and "activate" are not interchangeable terms.

An activated ability is written in the form "[cost]: [effect]" (note the colon to separate the two). Activated abilities are manually activated; they never happen as a result of something else. When an activated ability is activated, its controller puts it onto the stack, makes choices for it, and pays its costs just like he or she were casting a spell.

A triggered ability is written in the form "[at/when/whenever] [event], [effect]." Triggered abilities happen automatically when the stated event occurs in the game. When a triggered ability triggers, its controller puts it onto the stack the next time a player receives priority.

September 9, 2016 10:57 a.m.

This discussion has been closed