X mana cost combined with cost reducing spells

General forum

Posted on Feb. 3, 2013, 3:50 p.m. by beakedbard

Something I'm trying to work out as of late if something costs X does a spell that reduces its cost is out does that effect the X as well? For example i have Arcane Melee on the field and i play Mind Grind would the cost still be reduced from X say if i payed 3 towards the X would it actually be 1? It seems to be hard to find info on this.

Epochalyptik says... #2

You declare what X is before you make the payment. X is determined by your announcement, not your payment.

The total casting cost of a spell is calculated with a formula:

TCC = [mana cost OR alternate cost] + [additional costs] - [cost reductions]

The mana cost of an X spell on the stack is X plus whatever other symbols are in the upper right corner. That means X can be reduced by cost reduction effects.

February 3, 2013 4:09 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Also, questions like this are best asked in the Q&A.

February 3, 2013 4:09 p.m.

beakedbard says... #4

Thank you for the help that means Arcane Melee is not going to get cut from my deck now.

February 3, 2013 4:13 p.m.

beakedbard says... #5

Ah sorry about that this thread isn't needed anymore now i didn't know where to go to ask this so i just posted here my bad.

February 3, 2013 4:14 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

It's not wrong to ask a rules-related question in the general forum; rather the Q&A is just a better place to ask it. The Q&A is responsible for these sorts of queries, and we have a few rules gurus (myself included) who usually give fast and accurate answers to whatever you ask. Just something to keep in mind for next time.

February 3, 2013 6:05 p.m.

This discussion has been closed