Rule question: Bounce a sacrificed creature.
General forum
Posted on Jan. 10, 2014, 9:28 p.m. by Grimmlol
Hello everybody,
the situation is as follows:I got a Leafcrown Dryad on the board and my opponents uses the ability of his Priest of Iroas . Can i react on that like i do on an instant? If i use Voyage's End on his Priest (or on my Dryad) now, will my creature survive? If possible, please tell me where to look in the rules for this specific situation.
Thank you!
im pretty sure he can bounce the priest in response to the activation. The ability goes on the stack, you respond by removing the original originator of the ability, the game checks to see if original source is still active: this case it is not, so the ability fizzles and the dryad is saved.
Although, from a playmaking standpoint, it would be more beneficial to bounce your own dryad causing the other player to sacrifice the creature without a valid target, thus saving your dryad and making them lose a creature
January 10, 2014 9:47 p.m.
Thanks! I didn't know about the Q&A section; will post there in the future.
Well, i asked some players at our FNM today and they all said thata) my creature would die anyway, because the ability of a creature wouldn't work like an instant or sorcery.b) i could not bounce the creature of my opponent, as it would have already been sacrificed - "There is nothing you can react to." were the exact words.
As that seemed reeeally weird, but sadly there was noone else to ask i just wanted to doublecheck here. I didn't care much for it though, as i was ready to finish him off in my next turn for a 2:0. But i will keep that in mind for the future!
January 10, 2014 10:02 p.m.
I don't think you can bounce your his Priest of Iroas because the Priest is sacrificed as a cost and not as an effect. You CAN bounce your Leafcrown Dryad though, which will cause the Priest to be sacrificed in vain
January 10, 2014 10:03 p.m.
You can respond to the ability on the stack, the unfortunate part for you is that you can Not bounce his priest so that it doesn't resolve, because by the time you have the priority to cast anything at instant speed the priest is in the graveyard due to the cost of his ability. You can however bounce your own creature instead. Once returned to your hand the priests ability would be countere due to no legal targets, and he'd remain in the graveyard.
raithe000 says... #2
Yes, you can react to the activation of an ability exactly like you could an instant. Abilities go on the stack just like spells, and to resolve both players must pass priority (have an opportunity to respond) without adding anything to the stack.
In your particular case, using Voyage's end on the Priest both not possible, as part of the cost of activating the ability is sacrificing the Priest is sacrificing it, which means by the time you can respond to the ability the Priest is in the graveyard and not a legal target for Voyage's end, and also would not help, since removing the source of an ability does not remove the ability from the stack. However, if you Voyage's End your Dryad, it will not be destroyed by the ability. It will end up in your hand and need to be recast, however.
Also, questions like this should be asked in the Q&A. FYI.
January 10, 2014 9:37 p.m.