Pay No Heed

General forum

Posted on Dec. 1, 2013, 1:38 p.m. by Pemdas77

What are legal sources that can be chosen for the ability of Pay No Heed ?

Specifically, can you chose "Combat Damage" or does it have to be a specific spell/permanent?

GreatSword says... #2

No, a source is basically any one object in the game.

  • 609.7a If an effect requires a player to choose a source of damage, he or she may choose a permanent; a spell on the stack (including a permanent spell); any object referred to by an object on the stack, by a replacement or prevention effect thats waiting to apply, or by a delayed triggered ability thats waiting to trigger (even if that object is no longer in the zone it used to be in); or, for certain casual variant games, a face-up card in the command zone. A source doesnt need to be capable of dealing damage to be a legal choice.
December 1, 2013 1:42 p.m.

GreatSword says... #3

To be more specific I suppose, a source of damage is the object that dealt that damage.

So if you attack him with 2 Grizzly Bears for 4 damage, Pay No Heed will only prevent 1 of them from dealing its 2 damage.

Also, please ask rules questions like this in the Q+A forum in the future, please.

December 1, 2013 2:03 p.m.

Pemdas77 says... #4

Ok, thanks.

December 1, 2013 2:19 p.m.

kriskurse says... #5

Also, something fun with this card, you can choose a hexproof creature or permanent that would deal damage to you because it isn't targeting, its CHOOSING.

December 1, 2013 2:43 p.m.

This discussion has been closed