Cathars' Crusade, Increasing Devotion

General forum

Posted on March 15, 2014, 4:12 p.m. by sabba5600

curious about the interaction between Increasing Devotion and Cathars' Crusade when the five tokens come out do the tokens receive the +1/+1 counters making all five of them into 6/6 creatures or does the cathars' ability only activate for creatures already out?

Slycne says... #2

Is cases like this, all the creatures are entering and triggering Cathars' Crusade simultaneously. They all see each other and thus will all be 6/6s.

Also, in the future, the MTG Q&A section is the best place for rules questions.

March 15, 2014 4:20 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Rules questions should be asked in the Q&A.

First, Cathars' Crusade is a triggered ability, so it triggers. "Activate" is only used in reference to activated abilities. Triggering and activating are different processes.

Cathars' Crusade 's ability triggers whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control. That means the creature is already on the battlefield by the time the ability hits the stack. When the ability resolves, it puts a counter on every creature you control, including the one that triggered the ability.

tl;dr: All told, you get five 6/6 creatures and five +1/+1 counters on all your other creatures.

March 15, 2014 4:21 p.m.

sabba5600 says... #4

alright thanks for the info, sorry for posting in the wrong forum.

March 15, 2014 4:24 p.m.

This discussion has been closed