Card Relation question
General forum
Posted on Nov. 18, 2013, 9:03 p.m. by countjondi
If i have an evolving wilds in play at the start of my turn, and then play Izzet Boilworks, Can i then target the evolving wilds with the Boilworks second effect, and then in responce sacrifice the evolving wilds searching for a basic land. Does this then satisfy boilworks effect, and i no longer need to return a land card to my hand?
Epochalyptik says... #2
Rules questions should be asked in the Q&A.
Please link all cards in your question.
Evolving Wilds
Izzet Boilerworks
First, Izzet Boilerworks 's ability doesn't target anything. A spell or ability only has targets if it specifically uses the word target in its rules text. Izzet Boilerworks 's ability simply says "When ~ enters the battlefield, return a land you control to its owner's hand." When this ability resolves, you choose one land from among all lands you control, and you return that land to its owner's hand.
Second, you can never use one event as the payment for two different spells or abilities. If you want to activate Evolving Wilds 's ability, you need to tap and sacrifice Evolving Wilds (while you have priority). Once Izzet Boilerworks 's ability begins to resolve, just like with any other ability, players lose priority until the ability resolves completely. You won't be able to activate Evolving Wilds 's ability during the resolution. Even if you could, you'd still need to return a land you control to its owner's hand.
November 18, 2013 9:16 p.m.