Combos Browse all Suggest
Legality
| Format | Legality |
| Alchemy | Legal |
| Archenemy | Legal |
| Arena | Legal |
| Casual | Legal |
| Commander: Rule 0 | Legal |
| Custom | Legal |
| Freeform | Legal |
| Gladiator | Legal |
| Historic | Legal |
| Historic Brawl | Legal |
| Limited | Legal |
| Planar Constructed | Legal |
| Planechase | Legal |
| Quest Magic | Legal |
| Standard Brawl | Legal |
| Vanguard | Legal |
Rules Q&A
High Fae Prankster
Creature — Faerie Rogue
Flying, deathtouch
When High Fae Prankster enters the battlefield, choose up to one —
- Perpetually exchange target creature's base power with another target creature's base power.
- High Fae Prankster perpetually has base power and toughness 4/1. (Perpetual effects that are given to cards are permanent effects regardless of what zone those cards are in and what zone they move to.)
legendofa on Likeness Looter on High Fae …
8 months ago
Caphir Taking this step by step to make sure I get everything right:
-
High Fae Prankster enters and perpetually swaps its own power with Quakestrider Ceratops's power. Prankster is now a 12/4 in all zones for the rest of the game.
-
Prankster dies. It's still a 12/4 in the graveyard
-
You pay X=4 to make Likeness Looter a copy of the Prankster. Looter will be a 12/4.
So assuming there's no other power-setting effect, Looter should have the perpetually swapped P/T. How is Arena treating it?
wallisface on Likeness Looter on High Fae …
8 months ago
Oh I just noticed that High Fae Prankster is an arena card, and uses the text "Perpetually". I don't play arena - but I assume that "Perpetually" changes stats permanently and for all zones (something unique to arena, as this would be unmanageable in paper).
I've just noticed legendofa confirms this above.
legendofa on Likeness Looter on High Fae …
8 months ago
wallisface High Fae Prankster has the "perpetually" Alchemy ability, which means that the changes continue when the affected card changes zones.
If Prankster perpetually becomes a 4/1, it will continue to be a 4/1 while in the graveyard, and that will be the P/T that Likeness Looter copies.
Caphir on Likeness Looter on High Fae …
8 months ago
Cardcombo:
Likeness Looter & High Fae Prankster
Since Likeness Looter copies a creature in your graveyard - a specific creature(?), not just an example of a creature in that graveyard - Likeness Looter should also have the power/defence of that specific creature.
For example, if I play High Fae Prankster and swap the Power from 1/4 to 4/1 and the creature gets killed and lands in my graveyard, the creature has still 4/1. Therefore, when I play likeness looter and it becomes the High Fae Prankster in my graveyard, it becomes a High Fae Prankster with 4/1.
Is that the correct application?
If not, could someone please cite the rules and maybe explain what I misunderstand.
Thank you very much in advance. I‘m looking forward to your answers.