What will Progenitor Mimic}}'s copy be?

Asked by jotjot 4 years ago

I have Deadeye Navigator paired with Progenitor Mimic . Then let's say P.Mimic is already a copy of an opponent's general. At the beginning of my next upkeep, P.Mimic will put a copy of its self, meaning the same legendary creature will be put on the battlefield resulting in a 'Legend Rule'. So i responded by activating Deadeye's ability to blink P. Mimic and copy another creature. My question is, after the blink of P.Mimic, who will be the copy of the "still-on-stack" P.Mimic triggered ability. I know its a bit confusing, thank you for the repl though!. :-)

filledelanuit says... Accepted answer #1

If an ability wants to know something about an object that has changed zones it uses last known information. So in this case the trigger would make a copy of your opponents general.

November 29, 2014 12:21 p.m.

DeathChant17 says... #2

The triggered ability will put a copy of your opponents general into play. Since you blink the Progenitor Mimic in response to the triggered ability going on stack, it leaves and comes back before the triggered ability resolves, allowing you to copy another creature and not having to worry about the legend rule.

November 29, 2014 12:39 p.m.

This discussion has been closed