Strive spell vs Spellskite

Asked by EddCrawley 4 years ago

Ok, so my opponent is at 4 life, and I attack with a 2/2 flyer, can I cast Rouse the Mob , with strive, targeting my creature and the Spellskite .

Now my understanding is that my opponent cannot activate the Spellskite s ability as this would mean that it is being targeted twice by the same spell, which is not legal with strive spells.

Am i right?

Enyeto says... Accepted answer #1

Your opponent can still activate Spellskite's ability. The ability would only be able to illegally target and would not take effect on resolution. Ruling on Rouse the Mob:

4/26/2014 If such a spell is copied, and the effect that copies the spell allows a player to choose new targets for the copy, the number of targets cant be changed. The player may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, the player cant choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).

The targets would remain unchanged since no legal choices are able to be picked. I know it says copied in the ruling, but the target changing also would apply to this.

December 5, 2014 11:02 a.m.

EddCrawley says... #2

Thanks for the confirmation.

December 5, 2014 11:17 a.m.

This discussion has been closed