If I flash in Flaming Sword after first strike but before normal damage does it not deal combat damage

Asked by fastbond_stripmine_crucible 3 years ago

After my opponent attacked me and first strike damage happened i flashed in Flaming Sword enchanted to his creature I was under the opinion it "foged" that creature and my opponent said it would still deal combat damage which one of us was right?

702.7c Giving first strike to a creature without it after combat damage has already been dealt in the first combat damage step wont prevent that creature from assigning combat damage in the second combat damage step. Removing first strike from a creature after it has already dealt combat damage in the first combat damage step wont allow it to also assign combat damage in the second combat damage step (unless the creature has double strike).

April 10, 2016 7:03 p.m.

hyperlocke says... Accepted answer #2

Your opponent is right. You assume that there is always a First Strike Combat Damage Step. That's wrong, there are only two Combat Damage Steps if there are creatures with First or Double Strike at the beginning of the first Combat Damage Step.

510.5 (Identical to 702.4b and 702.7b) If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4) as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.

April 10, 2016 7:05 p.m. Edited.

This discussion has been closed