How does Reverberate work with Cipher?

Asked by Goalith 5 years ago

So here is the situation that I can't figure out:

If I cast Hands of Binding and I Reverberate it, do I get to cipher Hands of Binding twice?

Lets just assume the creature that I'm ciphering into stays alive through this whole process.

Thanks in advance

Goalith says... #1

I forgot to ask:

If the Reverberate Hands of Binding does get ciphered, does that mean if my creature deal combat damage to my opponent, it will trigger twice?

April 5, 2013 3:46 a.m.

vampirelazarus says... #2

Is cipher a part of the spell you are copying? Answer that, and you'll have your answer.

That sounds really dickish, I apologize in advance.

April 5, 2013 3:51 a.m.

vampirelazarus says... #3

As for the second question, wait for someone else, but since it's technically a separate spell, I would imagine that both would trigger separately.

April 5, 2013 3:53 a.m.

Nigrescence says... Accepted answer #4

Reverberate will copy the spell and let you choose new targets for that spell, however the cipher ability specifically states to "exile this spell card encoded on a creature you control... its controller may cast a copy of the encoded card...".

You will not be able to encode the Reverberate because it does not become a copy of the spell card itself. It merely copies the spell. So you can still tap down a creature due to the spell being copied, but the cipher ability is not functional for the copy.

April 5, 2013 3:54 a.m.

vampirelazarus says... #5

I looked into the ruling for cipher, and I was wrong.

The other guy is right.

Note: I'm sad now.

April 5, 2013 4:01 a.m.

Goalith says... #6

Thanks for the answer, now I got figure something else out instead

April 5, 2013 4:04 a.m.

Schuesseled says... #7

@ vampirelazarus lol, and yes as the other guy says, cipher can't be copied

April 5, 2013 4:18 a.m.

This discussion has been closed