Card Clarification

Asked by IrishMidgetMan 11 months ago

I just want to make sure I understand this card correctly before attempting to use it..

Reverse the Sands --So say I cast this spell. I have 5 life remaining, Player B has 20 life remaining, and Player C has 25 life remaining. (Total of 50 life points on the field)

I can redistribute life totals so that I have 48 life, Player B has 1 life, and Player C has 1life? (Total life points remains 50)

Tyrant-Thanatos says... Accepted answer #1

No. You redistribute the life totals themselves. You have three numbers to work with in your scenario, 5, 20, and 25. You choose which players get each of these numbers as their life totals. You cannot change or influence the numbers themselves. This comes straight from the Gatherer rulings.

You cant split up a life total when you redistribute it. For example, suppose that in a two-player game your life total is 5 and your opponents life total is 15 when Reverse the Sands starts to resolve. You can choose to (a) leave the life totals as they are or (b) make your life total 15 and your opponents 5. You cant choose to make your life total 20 and your opponents 0.

January 8, 2018 7:41 p.m.

IrishMidgetMan says... #2

Ahhhh ok, exactly why I wanted to clarify. Thanks!

January 8, 2018 8:05 p.m.

Please login to comment