Can Turn Aside counter Dark Salvation?

Asked by ithungers 3 years ago

I cast Dark Salvation , paying 2 for both X's. My brother wants to play Turn Aside in response. I am unclear on the resolution order. Do I choose a target for the effect before the spell resolves? Is he prevented from casting it by the "then" effect summoning the zombie tokens first, then choosing a target for the following effect? Can he cast it in response to the secondary targeting effect, after the first?

Denial048 says... Accepted answer #1

Whenever you cast a spell, you choose all targets as you put it on the stack. That includes the creature target in Dark Salvation

Your brother can cast Turn Aside to counter it

July 21, 2016 4:12 p.m.

nobu_the_bard says... #2

You need to choose targets when you cast Dark Salvation. You may choose one or two targets: you must choose a player, and optionally a creature. The spell will be on the stack with both targets declared once you are done casting it.

You will pass priority to your opponent when you are done casting spells and activating abilities - he gets an opportunity to respond. He may cast Turn Aside targeting Dark Salvation if you had chosen to target one of his creatures. If he counters it, he counters it here most likely; he can't interrupt the resolution once it starts, and he must counter the entire spell (and he will know what it targets when he makes his decision to counter).

The "then" bit in Dark Salvation happens at resolution; it doesn't matter except to make the order it resolves in more clear (even without the "then", cards always resolve in printed order). All targets are declared when the spell/ability goes onto the stack; if it was phrased as something like a "choose" you'd pick on resolution instead.

July 21, 2016 4:16 p.m.

This discussion has been closed