Brand of Ill Omen Ruling

Asked by ThomFoolery 5 months ago

Just want to be sure on this because to me it's kind of goofy:

I enchant my opponents creature with Brand of Ill Omen....do I put age counters on the enchantment during MY upkeep or THEIRS? And am I the one who pays the Cumulative Upkeep?

I think I do pay it but just want to make sure.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

In the future, please link all cards in your question. It makes it much easier for us to understand what's going on if we can see the cards involved. You can link cards by using double square brackets:

[[Island]]  

Island

Brand of Ill Omen

The cumulative upkeep ability is an ability of the enchantment itself. It triggers on your upkeep and you have to pay for it.

If the opponent had to pay, they'd just choose not to and would be able to go back to casting creatures.

May 16, 2017 11:01 a.m.

ThomFoolery says... #2

Okay cool. That's what I was thinking- it'd be useless if they had to pay. Thank you so much for the clarification friend!

May 16, 2017 11:09 a.m.

Please login to comment