Question about Blood Artist/Falkenrath Noble vs combat

General forum

Posted on July 23, 2013, 10:35 p.m. by greyninja

We had a disagreement tonight on the order of operations during the combat phase. maybe i'm an idiot, but i'll ask anyway

i'm attacking with an XL-trample creature... my opponent has four 1/1 tokens, a medium creature, a Falkenrath Noble , and just enough life that if he blocks with everybody but the Noble; i would bring him down to -3 life.

now how does the next part play out... does my opponent lose? or do his five creatures die, i lose 5 life he gains 5 life, then he sits at 2 life?

i realize that the change during M10(?) says that "Lifelink" means life is lost and gained at the same time during combat. but that's not exactly happening here.

trample states that once enough lethal damage is assigned to all blocking creatures, any remaining damage is assigned to the defending player. the creatures don't have to die first for the player to take damage, they all take it at the same time right? he would have to be at 0 life for the creatures to also be dead, but they died so he gains 5 life...

Bellock86 says... #2

Everything happens all at once in the above mentioned scenario. Creatures die because damage is dealt but because damage is dealt your opponent also went negative but as he went negative his creatures died and thus he gained life as you lost life so he sits at 2 life still

July 23, 2013 10:41 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

@Bellock86: That's incorrect.

Falkenrath Noble has a triggered ability. When combat damage is dealt, your opponent will be at -3 (assuming he didn't block with Falkenrath Noble ) and five of his creatures will be dealt lethal damage. Then, state-based actions check. The creatures die at the same time your opponent loses the game. Falkenrath Noble 's ability won't even be put onto the stack.

July 23, 2013 10:46 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Also, questions like this are best asked in the Q&A.

July 23, 2013 10:47 p.m.

Bellock86 says... #5

Hmm. Well crap. I should really look up a copy of the rules and just read it cuz this is the third time I've made a rules error.

July 23, 2013 10:49 p.m.

Bellock86 says... #6

I forgot that SBA always check first in the grand scheme of things

July 23, 2013 10:51 p.m.

greyninja says... #7

my bad, i meant to write this in Q&A

July 23, 2013 10:57 p.m.

greyninja says... #8

but thanks Epochalyptik, that's exactly what i thought

July 24, 2013 7:52 a.m.

This discussion has been closed